Free Verse # 235 (solitary flame)

By his touch exposed,
Made transparent to the core,
All her masks and veils falling
Like autumn leaves in the wind,
Falling with a sigh, heaving
An eternal wait.

~

I awakened on your lips
To find myself a flower
Exhaling the scent
Of your ineffable core,
Then I slept,
And when I woke again
I was the burning sun.

~

‘Touch me that I may quiver into the poem I always desired to be,’ she whispered in his ear, the waters of her being through her flesh oozing hot with ache.

~

The night
Into a kiss she warps
Then plants in my skin.

~

I am but a butterfly
From flower to flower fluttering,
Maddened by your scent.

~

My fate
Steeped in a solitude so deep
Only her hand can uncover

~

Solitary flame
In the mouth of dawn
Silently swaying
To the heart
Of your mystery

~

The colours of silence in the garden of her eyes.

~

He pushed into her
With a thrust frothing
With the cream of the stars
And her womb pulsed like a fountain
Surging endless with lust,
Lava to burn his heart.

~

From her pristine face
The glow of dawn an ocean
Pouring through the sky

~

My breath
Along your curves weaving itself,
A serpent squeezing
Wine for my parched lips,
Into your flesh searing
The press of my grip.

~

His vessel sailed her waters
And soon he discovered:
This eternal journey was his home.

~

In the fading light of dusk
Her eyes
A quarry of silence,
Each chiselled poem a dewdrop
Melting in the sky.

~

Through the shadows
His voice travels to her,
Lays itself in her ear,
A pulse in her heart.

~

Like rain to the earth
His breath to her skin fell,
Each droplet fraught
With a lifetime of longing.

~

Night waxes in my flesh
And my veins burn
With the stars of your poetry

~

My soul
A shadow deepening
In the arms of twilight

~

All the fires in the world are but a letter in the endless alphabet of my longing for you.

~

Clothed in the adoring touch of his gaze.

~

Beneath her skin
Every poem a dewdrop
Churning into a blue ocean,
A star becoming a sun,
A cradle birthing life.

~

Hand in hand we walked
To the shore of oblivion
Where the waves wrapped us
In an endless nightfall

~

Paved with the silence of her breath each poem a road leading to eternity.

~

Then she kissed him
And her mouth was ocean
Opening to an abyss
Of endless stars.

~

I’ve been waiting,
Weaving poetry into a quilt,
Into a shawl of jasmine
So that, one day,
With my heart
I may cover you,
In me fold you,
In my endless warmth.

Leave a Reply

