Free Verse # 238 (a single embrace)

As winds howling through the wood
I feel you in my bones,
Through their hollows blowing
Flute notes so sweet
My limbs melt in mystic tones.

~

From me to you
This arrow flies,
A drunk ray of sunlight,
A stream of velvet wine.

~

Wet does it fall to my lips, the shadow of your kiss.

~

The cusp of silence held in the parting of her lips.

~

Slowly, gently,
Without even noticing it
She welled inside of me
As water in the dark earth.

~

She breathed
And the leaves trembled,
The water leapt
From the womb of the earth,
From the clear sky
The soundless silence wept.

~

Longing is the core of mystery.

~

In the clutch of silence
My heart burned,
A flame seething
In the ineffable abyss
Of her presence.

~

His kiss, a feast in her bones.

~

Under my skin
She palpitates,
An earth breathing
The autumn winds.

~

Through the night
Your voice travels to me
To fall like a wound on my skin

~

Forged in love’s fire—every grain of my flesh belongs to you.

~

Better than all the world’s poetry, a word from her lips.

~

We sat there, wordless, contemplating each other’s faces until the whole world was gone and what was left was a single embrace.

~

My poem with the curve of her lips and navel begins and ends.

~

From your luminous face I drink like a cloud from the sky’s.

5 thoughts on “Free Verse # 238 (a single embrace)

Leave a Reply

