You went away from me

How can oceans pour
through the narrow eyes?
You went away from me,
a burning arrow piercing my heart
then vanishing into absence,
into the fog of mystery;
you went away from me
and my eyes knew
how the endless waves can pour
through their narrow openings,
their salt etching bitter flames.
Now my eyes know,
and my whole being trembles
like an earth trampled
under the wild feet of grief,
relentlessly beating.
You went away from me
and the silence engulfing me sobs
like a rootless fire
besieged by a dark sky,
my heart pleading
for your return,
for your touch that is home.

Leave a Reply

