Free Verse # 272 (I carry you in me)

I carry you in me
a womb birthing me forever

~

You are gone
and my heart is a tumult of memories
in endless waves rushing,
breaking on the white shore
of your eternal absence.

~

Eternally glowing
with silent stars
the nightsky
is the flower
of your sleeping eyes

~

On the lips
of each autumn leaf
a whisper,
spring is in my heart.

~

Scattering the voices
of those who once were
the wind whispers,
all is transient,
all is passing.

~

You went away
yet into the mist
I keep sailing,
deeper and deeper
in search of your face,
aching for a voice
now in the realm of memory.

~

Sarah Mhanna
Sarah Mhanna

Your hair a lion’s mane,
Your smile the sun in her splendour,
Your heart a boundless ocean,
Your presence the embodiment of love.

2 thoughts on “Free Verse # 272 (I carry you in me)

    1. Maybe, but nothing takes the pain away. I feel her absence more and more every passing day. Every day my sorrow grows. Words fail me when I try to think about this, about her…

      Thank you for your kind words and presence my friend.

      Like

Leave a Reply

