Free Verse # 286 (wander with me a little longer)

This longing writes me
in ever flowing verses,
verses in endless rivers
coursing for her shore,
aching to melt
in the ocean of her womb.

~

The deeper I flow into her
the wider grows her womb,
the tail of my comet sprinkling
a shining trail of poetry.

~

Their bodies tethered
by an invisible thread,
its pulse more vibrant
than a universe of stars.

~

Feeling her breath
flowers blossom,
seeds in the soil
shake and begin to move,
lovers long separated
find their hands again
clutched as one.

~

I hear your voice
and my bones
like leaves in the wind
shiver and sigh,
fill with an ache to travel,
get lost in your sky.

~

Where the river ends
the sea begins,
the rest of this poem
you can only read by melting
in the waters of her sea.

~

Wander with me
a little longer,
an old flame still flickers
in this ashen heart.

~

I am a poet –
the butterfly
that finds my flowers
will sip her fill and fly.

Leave a Reply

