Free Verse # 341 (the candle of her eyes)

I am a fool for her belly
where all the flowers of the world
burn like stars
and exhale their colours
in flames of fragrant light

~

I want to bend her,
a bow aching to shoot
poetry’s hot arrow
into the throbbing core of love.

~

My heart
is a dark corner
lit by the candle
of her eyes

~

By a waterless river
I am a willow tree,
my silent tears
course the dry riverbed
and in endless roots
stream up her spine
and claim her, free.

~

On her lips
my poem takes form,
a flower at dawn
reaping
the silence of the sky.

~

I think of you as the flower which breath is poetry.

~

Last hour,
when the music
is the stillness
of two hearts in love,
in unison beating
to the ultimate mystery.

~

I yearn to merge with her
as the shadows of twilight
melt into dark rivers
and flood into the sea of night

~

Darkness comes
and I turn to you
like a bird always knows
from where the wind blows

Leave a Reply

