Free Verse # 374 (alone in my fortress)

Alone in my fortress
of tea and poetry,
a trail disappearing
amid worded trees,
lost inside the pages
of books and memory.

~

She is there for a moment,
a verse of poetry,
a wandering firefly
vanishing in the moon.
She is there for a moment
but then she disappears,
the moon remains
and the heart wonders.

~

Bravely she carried her heart
like an altar burning with strange fires
where only the purest poetry
can be given for a sacrifice.

~

Silent long enough
the word will speak,
poetry will come.

~

tumblr_of1tz52e8t1rxx7cjo1_500
Artist unknown

Autumn’s red leaf…
his seed in her
a nimbus moon

~

batroun-october-2016
Old streets of Batroun, October 2016. My photo.

Wandering old streets…
the footsteps of those long gone
falling like dew.

~

batroun-october-2016_1
Batroun, The Phoenician Wall, October 2016. My photo.

The sun has set,
through the waves of the night
I sift
searching for a curl
of your voice
to tuck against my heart,
a spark from your eyes
to light a candle
in the darkness of my soul.

~

I live off the solitude
of poetry,
a hermit
wandering the hillsides
collecting simple flowers
to plant in her hair.

~

Her navel, the birthplace of the moon.

~

This night
poses her hands
on my shoulders
like a forgotten lover
who wants the world to burn
with desire for her kiss,
so I burn and kiss her
with the lips of poetry.

6 thoughts on “Free Verse # 374 (alone in my fortress)

Leave a Reply

