Free Verse # 380 (the dance of change)

One breath of her silence
was enough to turn me away
from a world of vanity and pleasure;
with my first breath of life
I chose her, I chose her love.

~

The dance of change,
summer to autumn rain,
and the day my body
will be earth once again.

~

Restless at dawn,
my churning heart
washing all the stars
in puddles at your feet.

~

I wake at dawn
and write to you
hoping that you will read,
hoping that you will read and sigh.

~

I feel you under my skin
glowing in the dark,
a river of light tearing
my heart into a shout,
a poem filled with meaning,
a voice filled with love.

~

There is a crack in the world
and your voice
leaking through
is now everywhere;
in every sound,
in every silence,
I hear you sigh and whisper,
I hear you call.

~

Your kiss
like a meteor
explodes into my skin
and in the aftermath
I am fire and ash
and a poem melting
through your fervent hills

3 thoughts on “Free Verse # 380 (the dance of change)

Leave a Reply

